Col. Brian Robinson, 19th Airlift Wing commander, presented the 2012 Team Little Rock Cornerstone Award to Jacksonville Mayor Gary Fletcher at the Jan. 25 Team Little Rock 2012 Annual Awards Banquet.

The Cornerstone Award recognizes civic leaders who excel in base and community involvement, Airmen interaction, mission impact and a commitment of service to Little Rock Air Force Base.

In making the announcement, Col. Robinson said Fletcher embodies the true essence of community leadership and dedication; he is a steadfast supporter of the base and its Airmen.

"Mayor Fletcher maintains the highest standard for community service and support; the efforts of the community he leads directly impacts our Airmen and their families," said Robinson. "He supports Team little Rock with unwavering support, pride, spirit and dedication and joins the esteemed ranks of the few community leaders who forged this legacy."

Fletcher serves as a members of the Little Rock AFB Community Council and board director and members of the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce. His community’s efforts to care for Airmen and their families directly resulted in winning the 2011 Abilene Chamber of Commerce Trophy for "Best Community in Air Mobility Command."

The mayor graciously accepted his Cornerstone Award honor thanking Team Little Rock members for their service to the nation.

"I am just overwhelmed and certainly surprised by such an award as this," the mayor said. "I love this air base and its personnel for the sacrifices they constantly make that we as Americans so take for granted. I am rewarded enough just being surrounded by America’s Greatest Heroes and able to call them ‘friends.’"

Past Cornerstone Award honorees are:

2011 - Jay Chesshir (Little Rock Regional Chamber of Commerce;

2010 - Larry Biernacki (Arkansas Federal Credit Union) and Michael Wilson (Attorney at Law);

2009 - Philip Davis (Your Extra Specialties;

2008 - Larry Wilson (1st Arkansas Bank and Trust;

2007 - Tommy Swaim (Mayor of Jacksonville).