The 2014 Small Works on Paper visual art exhibition will be on display Friday through Sept. 26 at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock on 2801 S. University Ave.

Several area artists have work featured in the exhibition. They are Melissa Bacon, Tony Baker, Lynn Bell, Matthew Castellano, Ike Garlington, Ted Grimmett, Lisa Kindrick, Alexa Pearce, Jennifer Rospert, Kasten Searles, George Wittenberg and Miranda Young, all of Little Rock; Carrie Waller of Cabot; John Watson of North Little Rock and Ben Krain of Maumelle.

Hours of operation are 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Weekend hours will begin after Labor Day: 10 a.m.-1 p.m. on Saturday; and 2-5 p.m. on Sunday. The exhibition will be housed in Gallery III in the Fine Arts Building. Admission is free.

Coordinated by the Arkansas Arts Council, the exhibition features the work of 39 Arkansas artists and will travel to 10 galleries throughout the state in a year-long touring show. To view the 2014 touring schedule and the list of artists whose work was selected, visit

Now in its 27th year, Small Works on Paper showcases artwork no larger than 24 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online art gallery coordinated by the Arts Council. The 2014 show features 40 works, which were selected from more than 300 submissions by juror Mary Kennedy, CEO of the Mid-America Arts Alliance.

"The works I selected for inclusion represent a broad range of media, technique and style and may appear to lack cohesion as a group at first glance, but for me the through-line for this exhibition is the richness and possibility of storytelling represented in these works," Kennedy said. "Regardless of whether they are abstract or figurative, high-tech or handcrafted, they conjure a response — emotional, intellectual or physical — that animates the imagination of the viewer and sparks new storytelling and the perpetuation of creative expression."

Kennedy selected 10 artists to receive purchase awards. Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award pieces become part of the exhibition’s permanent collection. The artists selected to receive purchase awards are Cindy Arsaga of Fayetteville; Claire Cade of Arkadelphia; Houston Fryer of Hot Springs; Lisa Kindrick of Little Rock; Tom Richard of Monticello; Richard Stephens of Hot Springs; Carrie Waller of Cabot; Cathy Wester of Conway; Cindy Wiseman of Fayetteville; and Miranda Young of Little Rock.

For more information on Small Works on Paper, call 501-324-9767 or