AARP to elect officers at Thursday meeting

The Maumelle AARP Chapter will install its 2014 officers at the regular monthly meeting at 6 p.m. on Thursday.

The meeting will be held at the Maumelle Senior Wellness Center.

Officers include:

• Betty Hall, President;

• Jim Alberson, Vice President;

• Ann Miller, Secretary;

• Barbara Wade, Treasurer.

Members at large: Jan Bowen, Helen Stanfield, Jackie Strehle and Dennis Hutcherson as Immediate Past President.

Anyone over the age of 50 is invited to attend and stay for the program.

For more information, call Betty Hall at 851-6828 or Jan Bowen at 803-0089.

Garden Club to meet

The Maumelle Garden Club will have a meeting at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, at the Maumelle Community Center, downstairs.

The speaker is the ADEQ’s Raven Lawson, and she will speak on Gardening and Water Quality: Rain Gardens, How can you help to promote good water quality through gardening?

The meeting is open to the public.