The Arkansas State Golf Association’s designated circuit will visit Maumelle July 26-28 for the Maumelle Classic.

The Maumelle Classic has been one of the most prestigious on the ASGA circuit for years. It is designated for men, mid-seniors (40+), seniors (55+) and super seniors (65+).

The field is limited to 150. Entries should be received by 5 p.m. Sunday, July 21. Entry fee is $175 for the 54-hole event. A 36-hole cut is in place.

The list of former winners includes some of the stars of Arkansas golf and some of the best from other states. Matt Mabrey won in 2012. Other former champions include three-time winners Doug Farr and Danny Green, two-time winners Barry Hamilton, Ed Harris, Ron Richard, Patrick Sullivan and Tim Jackson, as well as Chris Jenkins, Pat Pinson, David Apperson, Scott Sills, John Daly, A.J. Kroeger, Mike Smith, Stan Lee, Allan Thomas, Jay Fullerton, Ken Moore, Luke Bakke, Wyn Norwood, Neal Westbrook, Stetson McMillan, Bryon Shumate, Alex Carpenter and Nick Benton.

For more information, contact the MCC pro shop at 851-3700 or visit

Other upcoming events on the ASGA designated calendar are the Pine Bluff Country Club Men’s Stroke (for men, mid-seniors, seniors and super-seniors) July 13-14; the Ouachita Valley Invitational at Camden Country Club (for men, mid-seniors, seniors and super-seniors) July 20-21; the ASGA Women’s Stroke Play Championship (for women and senior women) at Hot Springs Country Club July 16-18; the Chuck Morton Memorial Junior Stroke (for boys and girls) at Big Creek in Mountain Home July 11-12; the Tom Millikin Memorial Junior Stroke (for boys and girls) at Harrison Country Club July 13-14; the Randy Beaver Memorial Junior Stroke (for boys and girls) at Rolling Hills in Cabot July 16-17; the Fianna Hills Junior Stroke Play Championship (for boys and girls) at Fort Smith July 18-19; the Greers Ferry Junior Stroke (for boys and girls) at Red Apple Inn and Country Club in Heber Springs July 18-19; the ASGA Junior Match Play Championship (for boys and girls) at Eagle Hill in Little Rock July 22-25 and the Conway Country Club Junior Stroke (for boys and girls) July 29-30. That will conclude the junior designated schedule in time for the high school season to begin.


Well into the ASGA’s designated schedule, several local golfers are among point leaders for the various Player of the Year races.

Kevin Walker of Sherwood is 14th on the men’s list with 91.5 points. Austin Eoff of Benton, who has signed with Purdue, leads with 390. Other locals in the men’s standings include Hunter Smith of Cabot, tied for 16th with 90 points; Nick Crisco of North Little Rock, tied for 26th with 45; Trey Schaap of North Little Rock, 29th with 36 points; John Rogers and Beau Glover of North Little Rock, tied for 36th with 16; Matt Dettlinger of North Little Rock, 40th with 10; and Chris Felty of North Little Rock, tied for 46th with four points.

Bill Burkhalter of Ward stands tied for sixth in the mid-senior (40+) race. His 175 points trail Tracy Harris of Little Rock, the leader with 480. Other locals on the mid-senior list include John Mazzia of North Little Rock, tied for seventh with 140 points; Todd Martin of Cabot, tied for eighth with 125; Frank Martin of North Little Rock, tied for 12th with 62.5; Randy Patterson of North Little Rock, tied for 16th with 40; Randy Renaud of North Little Rock, tied for 23rd with 12; and Brett Swenson of Cabot, 26th with 2.5 points.

On the senior list for golfers 55+, North Little Rock’s Clark Fitts is fourth with 266 points. Stan Lee of Tumbling Shoals and Ron Richard of Fort Smith, two of the legends of Arkansas amateur golf, stand 1-2 with 330 and 310 points, respectively. Jim Balch of Maumelle is fifth with 235, followed locally by Jim Smith of Sherwood, 10th with 95; and Mark Haley of North Little Rock, 24th with eight.

Cecil McGee of Maumelle is ninth on the super senior (65+) list with 128 points. Glen Talbert of Sheridan leads with 565. Other local players in the standings include John Mayes, who plays out of the Country Club of Arkansas, tied for 10th with 90 points; Fred Nahlen of Cabot, 15th with 35; Gary Parson of Maumelle, 17th with 28; and Fred Roberson of North Little Rock, tied for 18th with 20.

Cathy Bellus of Cabot stands third on the senior women list (50+). She has 201 points; Jean Mowery of Hot Springs Village is atop the standings with 340. Kathy Bay of Sherwood is fifth with 125, followed locally by Faye Reynolds of Maumelle, tied for sixth with 80; Kathe Parson of Maumelle, seventh with 70; and Mimi Evans of Maumelle and Nedra Wood of North Little Rock, tied for 10th with 40 points apiece.

On the junior boys list, Maumelle’s Caleb Kubacak is ninth with 163 points. Cameron McRae of Little Rock leads with 349.16. Other locals on the list are Landon Hearnes of Mayflower, a recent Central Arkansas Christian graduate headed to Arkansas State, tied for 14th with 80; Ryan Spurlock of Maumelle, 21st with 29 points; Cain Gunnett of Sherwood and Garrett Phelps of Maumelle, tied for 30th with eight; and Peyton Herald of Sherwood, tied for 35th with 2.4 points.

Four Maumelle residents are on the junior girls list. While Stephanie Leake of Little Rock leads the standings with 417.5 points, Maumelle has Taylor Loeb sixth with 195; Allie Weiner 12th with 55; Josie Roberson 17th with 26.5 and Alexa Goodlow 21st with six. Hannah Bakalekos of Sherwood is seventh with 181 points.

Julie Oxendine of Russellville leads the women’s race with 340 points. That is the only category without a local golfer in the standings.