To celebrate the founding of the Parent-Teacher Association, the North Little Rock PTA Council hosted its annual Founder’s Day reception and awards presentations on Feb. 25 honoring outstanding PTA people and projects they do in North Little Rock schools. Written the individual PTA units at the schools in North Little Rock School District submitted nominations in various categories, and a winner was selected in each category. The Parent Involvement Committee at Allen Elementary School in Siloam Springs judged the nominations.

The 2013 winners announced were as follows: Safety Award: Amboy Elementary for Red Ribbon Week; Communications Award: Lakewood Elementary PTA; Heroic Effort Award: Kim Johnston, School Nurse; Outstanding PTA Unit Award: Indian Hills Elementary PTA; 100 percent Staff PTA Membership: Amboy Elementary, Glenview Elementary, Lakewood Elementary, Lynch Drive Elementary, Meadow Park Elementary, North Little Rock High School — East Campus; 100 percent PTA Membership: Glenview Elementary; Largest increase in PTA Membership: Lynch Drive Elementary, 196 percent; Parent Education Award: North Little Rock High School — Freshman Campus, Let’s Get it Started; Party Children’s Champion Award: Jan Scholl, Director of the Mayor’s Youth Council;

Classified Employee of the Year Award: Elementary — Jamesetta Ballard, Boone Park Elementary; Secondary — Patti Abbott, North Little Rock High School West Campus;

Teacher of the Year Award: Elementary — Brigetta Starks, Indian Hills Elementary and Secondary — Kellie Sheffield, Lakewood Middle School;

Administrator of the Year Award: Elementary — Lori Smith, Crestwood Elementary and Secondary — Lee Tackett, Lakewood Middle School

Parent of the Year Award: Elementary — Lori Dawson, Lakewood Elementary; Secondary — Jennifer Wallace, North Little Rock High School Freshman Campus and Honorary Lifetime Membership: Superintendent of NLR Schools, Ken Kirspel.