Eastern Illinois football coach Kim Dameron spent four seasons playing for then Arkansas coach Lou Holtz from 1979 to 1983.

Dameron spent another year in Fayetteville as a graduate assistant before embarking on a coaching career of his own.

He’s now at Eastern Illinois in Charleston and his time in Arkansas proved beneficial as two of his top recruits played at North Little Rock and Sylvan Hills in, respectively, Zavion Moore and Darius Waddell.

Both were All-State football players their senior season and, in addition, Moore was named the Farm Bureau Insurance 7A/6A Defensive Player of the Year by Hootens.com.

Moore (6-foot-1, 255 pounds) played on the defensive line for North Little Rock as the Cats rolled to a 13-0 season and the school’s first state championship in the playoff era.

He was thankful for the opportunity.

“I’m truly grateful to God for the talent he’s given me,” Moore wrote on his Twitter account. “A special thank you goes out to my coaches from youth league to North Little Rock High…for pushing me and helping me develop into the athlete I am today.”

Waddell (6-0, 170) played wide receiver and safety for the Bears as they went 6-5 last season. Waddell snagged eight interceptions his season and is expected to play as a defensive back for Eastern Illinois.

Eastern Illinois, where former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo played, is a Football Championship Subdivision (formerly known as I-AA) school and play in the Ohio Valley Conference with schools such as Murray State and Tennessee-Martin.

It won’t be long before Moore and the rest back in Arkansas as Eastern Illinois is scheduled to start the season at Fayetteville when they face the Razorbacks on Sept. 1. Kickoff time has not yet been announced.

Moore wasn’t the only North Little Rock player to sign on Wednesday morning.

Quarterback David Chapple inked with Arkansas-Pine Bluff, while All-State center Dennis Carroll chose Harding University in Searcy and Clay Thompson is headed to Arkadelphia and Henderson State.

In addition, Marcus Christopher and Brian Taylor signed with Bayou Prep

Kicker Savana Melton chose to play soccer at Harding University and signed in a ceremony on Wednesday afternoon.

In Sherwood, Wednesday morning, in addition to Waddell, Ty Compton and Anthony Chairez both chose Ouachita Baptist in Arkadelphia, while Deon Youngblood picked Missouri Valley.

Compton and Youngblood were both All-State players their senior season.

Daelyn Fairrow rounded out the Wednesday crew and signed with Hastings College in Nebraska.

Defensive lineman Lucas Parham will sign with Lyon College in Batesville in a ceremony on Thursday.

Maumelle and Central Arkansas Christian did not report any football signings on Wednesday.